Skip to content

A Good Joke

January 3, 2016

I told this joke at my Toastmasters club.  I won the prize for best humour that evening.  It’s a prize-winning joke:

You’ve heard of Murphy.  Murphy dropped his toast on the floor.  It landed butter side up.  “It’s a miracle”, said Murphy.  “I have to tell the priest”.

So Murphy told the priest all about his toast, saying “It’s a miracle, isn’t it?”.  “Well, it might be a miracle”, said the priest, “but I have to ask the bishop”.

The priest told the bishop all about Murphy’s toast, saying “It’s a miracle, isn’t it?”.  “It might be a miracle”, said the bishop “but I’m not sure”.  “I’ll have to check with the cardinal”.

So, the bishop spoke to the cardinal, telling him all about the toast.  “It’s a miracle, isn’t it?” said the bishop.  “It might be a miracle, but I’ll have to check with the pope”, said the cardinal.

The cardinal told the pope all about Murphy’s toast, and how it landed butter side up.  He said “It’s a miracle, isn’t it?”.  The pope thought it over for a few minutes.  Then he said “Well, it might be a miracle, but I have a better explanation”.  “Murphy buttered his toast on the wrong side”.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

