Skip to content

Dark Personality

January 10, 2016

When it comes to books, movies, or plays, most people I’ve spoken to seem to prefer comedies.  I’ve always been different from that.  I prefer a drama or a tragedy to a comedy.  Many people avoid certain books, movies, or plays because they think they might be too depressing.  I like those kinds of entertainment.  I like depressing.  I always say that my personality is different from theirs.  I am concerned, though, that something is wrong with me, just because I am different from most people.

Personality is something that psychology attempts to define.  When I read about the classical greek temperaments, the one that seemed to fit me best was the melancholic temperament, described as analytical and thoughtful.  Similarly, the category in the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator that seemed to fit me best was ISTJ.  Neither of these have much to do with my preference in books, movies, or plays.

That’s why I was so excited when I saw the “How dark is your personality” page on the BBC web site.  Here was something that was going to tell me exactly what I wanted to know.  It had a series of statements with which I could strongly agree, strongly disagree, or something in between, statements like:

I manipulate people to get what I want.

I associate with people who can help me get what I want.

I tried to respond honestly.  After I finished, it gave me my score.  The range of personality types was from psychopathic killer to angel.  It put me on the side of the angels!  That was a great relief.  My personality was not at all dark, at least according to this test.  My preference for dramas and tragedies, over comedies, was not abnormal after all.  It’s just an individual difference.  It’s a good thing that people are not all the same.  Still, I don’t know what I would have done if it had told me I was a phychopath.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

