Skip to content

What’s funny in the world?

September 1, 2012

One day, I told Yvette, my occasional dancing partner, about something funny that I did recently.  She laughed, saying “that’s what I need to hear”.  This incident prompted me to give some thought to funny things that I had noticed.  I was surprised that there were so many of them.  Here are a few:

  • I like to rest between dances because I don’t have the energy to do one after another.  At one recent dance, there were more ladies than men.  Every time I sat down to rest, one of them would approach me asking to dance.  They were chasing after me!  Finally I had to hide out in the washroom to get away from them.  I went home smiling from that dance.
  • On one of our warm summer days, I went out for an early morning walk.  I’d hoped it was early enough to be still cool out, but I was a bit too late for that.  I said “Good Morning” to a fellow walking a small dog.  He wasn’t so much walking as he was being towed along by this little dog.  The dog had its tongue hanging out, but it wasn’t going to stop.  I guess it was an opportunity too good to waste.
  • Yes, I did once spray the kitchen with chicken soup.  I usually shake a can of soup before opening it, just to mix it up a bit.  When I do open it, I leave an uncut section of the lid so I can reclose it.  I take out a third of the can, close the lid, and put it back in the fridge.  This time, I started shaking a can that I’d taken from the fridge already opened.  Soup did spray all over the place until I noticed my mistake.  I’m sure I’m entitled to one little mistake occasionally.
  • I had a colonoscopy recently.  The procedure itself was no problem, but the preparation the day before was certainly unpleasant.  Anyone who’s had a colonoscopy certainly knows about this.  I had to take two doses of a purgative, followed by a clear liquid diet.  For the first one, I was watching TV with my pants off and my running shoes on.  I made it to the toilet in time.  For the second, I anticipated the urges a bit better.  While I was sitting on the toilet waiting we had a loud rain and lightening storm.  The lights flickered several times and then went out, but only for a second or two.  When I was finally able to leave the bathroom, I discovered that my whole computer system had gone down.  They’re supposed to come back up when the power returns, but most of the computers stayed down.  I eventually got the system up again and back to normal, but that was the low point of an unpleasant day.  The high point came the next day when the surgeon reported that my colon was normal.

There are lots of funny things in my world.  These are not things that bring roars of laughter, but they do arouse a chuckle or two.  That’s all I need for my amusement and for other people’s.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

