Skip to content

Twelve Hours

July 31, 2016

On Wednesday, we had weather warnings for the western half of the province.  When the storm hit here, though, it brought lots of thunder and lightening, but only a brief period of rain, and another of strong wind.  After that, it calmed down.  It wasn’t even exciting to watch.

At 8:30 that evening, I was sitting in front of my computer when the power went off.  My emergency lighting went on.  My desktop kept on running, thanks to a UPS powering it and my cable modem.  The UPS had enough battery power for about an hour.  My other computers went down, of course.  I expected the power to return in about half an hour, as it has done before.  Instead, it stayed off.  My desktop did a clean shutdown after an hour.  The power stayed off.  This looked serious.  I didn’t dare open the refrigerator door.

What could I do for the rest of the evening, with no electrical power?  There was a bright sunset below the storm clouds.  I did some reading until it got too dark to do that.  Then I went to bed.  The power was still off.  I fully expected to be awakened in the night when the power came back on.  My carbon monoxide detectors would beep.  I’d hear the air conditioner and the dehumidifier start up.  My clock radio would light up.

None of that happened.  When the sun came up, the house was still quiet.  My clock radio was still dark.  The power was still off.  At least, the house had hot and cold running water.  I had a shower.

I always have breakfast at home.  Not Thursday morning, though.  There was no power.  I decided to go to a local restaurant for breakfast.  I’d never done that before.  I had to pull the red handle to get my car out of the garage.  The restaurant was all lit up.  At least they had power.  They also had sleeply waitresses and a breakfast special.  I was there at 7:00.  That took care of breakfast.  I fully expected the power to be on when I returned home.

It was still off.  What can I do now with no power?  The house was really quiet.  I tried my battery radio, but it shut off almost immediately, saying that the battery need charging.  There was plenty of daylight.  I started reading.

I’d only read about a page when the power came back on.  That was about 8:30 that morning.  My CO detectors beeped.  I heard the air conditioner, the dehumidifier, and the refrigerator start up.  Finally it’s returned!  Will it stay on?  Good time for a walk.  It was still pleasant and cool that time of the morning.  When I got back home, the power was still on.  That was pleasant news, anyway.  I booted my desktop, and my other computers.  For the first time, I read about the extent of the storm on the web.  Houses had their roofs ripped off.  A truck was turned on it side.  Thousands of people were without power.  Still, I was worried about the food in my refrigerator.  I checked it after the power had been on for about an hour.  It was still cool, but nowhere as cold as it should have been.

Twelve hours without power is a long time, almost too long for a refrigerator.  My house stayed cool, but only because the power was off at night, when it was cool outside anyway.  A few days later, I had almost forgotten the incident.  Maybe it’ll never happen again.  Maybe it’ll be worse next time.  In any case, I was able to resume my normal life as soon as the power came back on.  I suppose that’s all that matters now.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

