Skip to content

Scrambled Eggs

June 19, 2016

Recently, I decided to introduce some protein into my breakfast.  I’ve been eating a scrambled egg every second morning, with meat of various kinds the other days.  I purchase these eggs at a local grocery store, a small package of large white eggs.  I did notice that they came from Burnbrae Farms.  According to the Wikipedia entry on Burnbrae Farms, their original farm is in Ontario.  There’s no farm by that name in this province.  They do have an egg grading station and distribution operation here.  They buy eggs from local farmers.  Burnbrae has become a distributor of eggs.  Calling them a farm seems misleading to me.  Of course, it’s a brand name now.

The other day, I watched the video of a CBC Marketplace investigation about eggs.  They had a panel who tasted scrambled eggs from the wide variety that were available in food stores.  Some people on the panel described their concerns with eggs.  Panel members were quite diverse.  One was an egg farmer.  One was a mother with children to feed.  One was a woman who kept laying hens in her backyard.  One was a nutritionist.  The panel only rated the scrambled eggs according to their flavour.

In the video, the Marketplace host visited a number of egg farms of various types.  All were large-scale commercial production facilities.  One, representing most producers today, had hens in conventional cages.  Another farm had them in larger cages, so that the hens were less crowded.  One was cage-free, meaning that the hens could wander all over the barn.  At one farm, they ran around a field outside of the barn.  Each of these produced higher-priced eggs than the ones from a conventional egg farm.

Many conflicting issues surround egg production.  Most of these were mentioned in the video.  Cost is an important consideration for most people, especially for those living on a limited budget.  Some types of eggs are very expensive when compared to others.  Some people wanted eggs with the organic label, assuming that they were healthier than other eggs.  Nutrition, especially onmega-3 fatty acids, was important to some.  The program did mention the nutrient content of each type of egg, assuming that more was better.  It didn’t mention health aspects of eating eggs, though.  Isn’t cholesterol still controversial?  Some people are concerned about the welfare of the laying hens, looking for ethical production facilities.  Were the hens happy at some of the farms in the video?  I couldn’t tell.

I only want the protein for my breakfast.  I don’t care about other nutrients.  I can get them someplace else, if I really need them.  I don’t care about omega-3 fatty acids, either.  I am concerned about cruelty to the hens, of course.  I wouldn’t want to be eating eggs that came from birds that were in pain or injured.  The conventional cage production method seems okay to me.  The hens may be crowded.  I’m willing to accept that.  Larger cages would be okay too.  It’s certainly impersonal.  All commercial livestock production is impersonal.  I suppose I’m with the majority when it comes to eggs.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

