Skip to content

No Junk Mail

February 14, 2016

Several years ago, Canada Post announced that they were going to eliminate all home mail delivery, replacing it with community mailboxes.  They started doing this in some areas of this city shortly afterward.  They didn’t say anything about my area, but I knew that it would soon be happening here too.  I could already see that mail use was declining.  Stamps were getting more expensive every year.  E-mail was free, and more convenient anyway.  I don’t write letters anymore.  My mother still does, but I don’t.  Telephone is another alternative.  Text messages are too.  Almost everyone has a mobile phone these days.  I decided to reduce my mail use to a minimum before my area got converted to group mailboxes by Canada Post.

I converted all my utility statements to electronic delivery.  I did the same thing to my bank and my investment company.  I did my banking on the Internet anyway.  I can see all my account transactions any time I want.  I also put a sign on my mailbox that read “No Junk Mail”.  Canada Post respects that sign, stopping what they call ad-mail to my house.  I only get personally-addressed mail in my mailbox now.  The local flyer distribution company skips my house.  I don’t take a newspaper.  The result is that I only get mail in my mailbox about twice a week.  When the conversion to community mailboxes comes here, I’ll only need to visit the one on my block once or twice a week.  That was my plan.  However, a few months ago, our new federal government announced that Canada Post would be suspending the conversion, and conducting a review of it.  Has my plan gone wrong?

There’s a local restaurant where I eat a couple of times a week.  At this time of year, they issue a book of coupons, delivered by Canada Post as ad-mail.  Naturally, I didn’t get one.  I did notice that the restaurant was unusually busy.  I soon discovered that most of the customers there were using coupons.  They all had them, except me, of course.  This was the disadvantage of my “No Junk Mail” sign.  Was it worth it?  I suppose so.  I used to like saving a few dollars on a meal.  It wasn’t the money.  It was the FREE part that appealed to me.  I suppose I’m being more realistic now.

I used to get flyers, both from Canada Post and from the local flyer distribution company.  Most of them I put directly in the blue bin.  I did read a few of them, though.  To some extent, it was interesting reading.  To some extent, it was a waste of time.  I seldom went out and bought the products advertized in these flyers.  On balance, I’m happy that I don’t get them anymore.  I expect that the flyer business will decline too, as more people refuse them.  The Internet will take over that business too.  I generally hate advertizing.  I prefer to look for what I want at the time I want it, not when it appears in a flyer.  I suppose I’m just not a bargain hunter.  That’s certainly okay with me.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

