Skip to content

In My Retirement

January 4, 2015

People often ask me if I’m keeping busy in my retirement.  That’s an easy one to answer.  Retired people alway claim to be busier now than when they were working.  Then they ask me what I’m doing to keep busy.  That’s a more difficult one.  I always have an answer, but it’s a partial one.  It’s generally enough to satisfy the questioner, but it’s not a complete answer.  What would be complete?

I am enjoying my retirement.  It’s over three years now since I left the world of work.  I’m well aware of the advantages.  The chief one is freedom of choice.  I can do what I enjoy now.  I can say “no” now to things that I don’t want to do.

I am doing many things, surely enough to keep busy.  I write a weekly blog.  I do software development, one aspect of my last job that I enjoyed.  I participate in a Toastmasters club.  I’m a member of a local singles club.  With them, I go to a brunch once a week, and go on park walks when I’m able to go.  I enjoy walking in my neighborhood, at least in the summer time.  I do a lot of reading, mostly non-fiction books and classic novels.  I watch movies and TV series on Netflix.  I do minor house repairs, mainly carpentry, plumbing, and electrical wiring.  Of course, I do cleaning around the house and laundry.  I also do lawn maintenance and gardening in the summer.  I’ve done snow clearing for the past couple of winters, but now I’ve found a good service to do most of it for me.  I’m a ballroom dancer, taking private lessons and going to a dance once a week.  I also like to eat lunch in a restaurant a few times a week.

Most of what I’m doing I do enjoy.  Between Christmas and New Year’s, I enjoyed being by myself.  I’m used to my own company, and value those times I can be alone.  As well, I enjoy the company of other people, at the weekly brunch or at a Toastmasters meeting.  I enjoy doing anything where I can express my creativity, or anything that brings me satisfaction.  I like being engaged in a project or doing something where I can demonstrate my skills to other people.  Eating is one of my pleasures.  To me, every day is a new day.  I get up early to enjoy the experience.

I sometimes wonder if I’m too busy, spending too much time doing things, rather than simply appreciating the world around me.  I don’t have a good answer to this question.  There are times when I believe I have nothing to do, although these times don’t arise very often.  There are also times when I feel I have too many things to do in the same day.  One thing I don’t do is to stay in bed because there’s nothing else to do.  I always get out of bed in the morning because I want to experience the new day.  I suppose I must have a pretty good balance after all.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

