Skip to content

End of Home Delivery

June 15, 2014

According to their recent announcements, Canada Post will be phasing out home delivery of mail over the next few years.  Only long-established urban neighborhoods have home delivery now.  I live in one of those neighborhoods that do have home delivery.  It’s to be replaced by group mailboxes located within a block or two of any home.  The exact distance will be determined by consultation with people in the neighborhoods and by trials with community mailboxes.  They have already designated two areas of this city for the first trials.

As I mentioned, I live in an urban area that has home delivery.  I’ve certainly noticed a decrease in mail lately.  I don’t get very much mail in each delivery.  Sometimes there’s none.  Perhaps there’s only mail in my mailbox three times a week now.  Sometimes it’s all flyers, which Canada Post calls ad-mail.

The reason for this change is pretty clear.  It’s electronic access and electronic delivery.  Personal mail is decreasing as people switch to e-mail for much of their correspondence.  I use e-mail instead of letter mail whenever I can.  About the only time I use the post office is when I have to sign a document and send it back.  That’s only because I don’t have a scanner.  The number of statements that are mailed is also decreasing, as people switch to electronic access to their statements.  I’ve certainly done that, although I still get a few in the mail.  Flyers are also decreasing in number, being replaced by web sites.  I used to get a bundle of flyers in my mailbox once a week, but that’s stopped now.  I believe the flyer company went out of business.  I still get a few from Canada Post.  Most of those go directly into my blue box.  I assume that flyers are just not an economic means of advertizing anymore.

What do all these changes mean for Canada Post?  I’m expecting them to stop home delivery in my area within a couple of years.  By then the changes I just outlined will have proceeded even further.  I’ll be getting even less mail.  I may only check my mailbox in the community mailbox twice a week.  Depending on the weather, I may only check it once a week.  If I’m expecting something, I’ll check it more often, of course.  Postal mail will become less convenient, especially if they decide to space the group mailboxes more widely.  I’ll also tell Canada Post not to send me ad-mail.  Electronic access and electronic delivery will become more attractive to me, so I’ll arrange for more of it.  If I order some product from a web site, I’ll choose a courier for delivery because they will deliver the package right to my door.

The way things are going, I may not need Canada Post at all.  Likely I’ll be in the majority.  I wonder what Canada Post will do with community mailboxes that are empty most of the time?  I wonder what they’ll do without the revenue from ad-mail and postage stamps?  Oh, I forgot that there are people who don’t have home computers and Internet.  They’ll still rely on Canada Post, although it will become less and less convenient.  They’ll also be unable to correspond with me.  At least there’s still the telephone.

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Dee permalink

    Also be sure when the questionnaire comes to your city to select locations in central sites otherwise you can end up with 80 boxes on people’s lawns. When the map with the locations come to your right-of-way city department ask for the location map under the Freedom of Information act, Canada Post and your city will withhold that information.

    http://www.canadapoststop.ca

Leave a Reply

