Skip to content

I’m Eating Too Much Sugar

April 8, 2013

I’ve seen lots of articles on excess sugar in our diet recently.  Here’s one example.  It’s about Dr Robert Lustig’s book, entitled Fat Chance: The Bitter Truth About Sugar.  I haven’t read the book, but I already know what it’s about.  I’m ready to reduce the amount of sugar in my diet.  I don’t choose to eat sugary products, although I’m sure I grown used to eating them.  Often there’s very little choice.  Almost all of Tim Horton’s donuts have icing.  Some have a sweet filling as well.  I’ll bet there’s sugar in the dough too.  I understand that McDonald’s even puts sugar on their french fries along with the salt.

I don’t want things with artificial sweetners.  They have their own problems.  I just want food with less sugar.  I also don’t want exotic foods like quinoa and kale.  I just want things I can obtain anywhere.  I don’t even need to lose weight.  All I want is to be healthier, with less sugar in my diet.

I don’t eat enormous amounts of sugar.  I’ve reduced the amount I put into my coffee.  I never put sugar in my tea.  I never drink carbonated beverages.  I’ve heard that fruit drinks are just as high in sugar, but the only juice I drink is about 100 mL of orange juice with my breakfast.  I don’t eat candy regularly.  So far, that sounds pretty good, doesn’t it?

So, what else do I eat?  I made a list of the main things.  At restaurants, I eat things like hamburgers, french fries, pancakes, french toast, and a donut.  Most of those I’ll only have once or maybe twice a week.  At home, my list is larger.  I eat bread, jam, eggs, sausages, soup, salad, sandwiches, cookies, fruit, cereal bars, taco chips, and salsa.  That sounds fairly normal to me.

What about the amount of sugar I’m getting from all of those?  Some have very little or no sugar at all.  We can omit those.  Some I eat in small servings.  Even though they may be high in sugar, we can omit them too.  The same goes for the things that I only eat occasionally.  I’m thinking of pancake sirup and donuts here.  Funny how I keep coming back to that donut.  This leaves the things that I eat regularly, things like bread, jam, cookies, cereal bars, and fruit.

Most of these have nutrition labels that tell you how much sugar they contain.  That makes it easy.  I had to look on the web for apples.  Here’s what I found for some things I eat regularly:

  • A large apple: 25 g of sugar per 220 g (12%)
  • Kraft Apricot jam: 13 g of sugar per 15 mL (65%)
  • Cereal bars: 11 g of sugar for 35 g bar (33%)
  • Voortman Oatmeal Raisin cookies: 5 g of sugar for 19 g cookie (25%)
  • Voortman Chocolate Chip cookies: 7 g of sugar for 19 g cookie (35%)

With that information, I know what to do.  I can cut back on those foods, or substitute a similar food with less sugar.  Instead of eating both an apple and a cereal bar for desert, I can choose one or the other.  I can add more vegetables to my salads, instead of making them mostly from fruit.  I have lots of options.

What about that donut that I get from Tim Horton’s occasionally?  Fortunately, they have a nutrition calculator on the web.  I’m shocked!  My usual choice turns out to be the highest in sugar of all the cake donuts.  Yes, the humble chocolate glaze donut has 20 g of sugar per donut.  The old fashion plain is the lowest, with ony 7 g of sugar per donut.  I’ve tried that one a couple of times.  It tastes alright, but it’s not choclate!  I might have to compromise on that one.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

