Skip to content

Home in a Snowstorm

December 15, 2012

A little snow wouldn’t bother me.  I had a ticket for a dance that evening.  When the ticket seller brought it to my place, he said “It’s getting pretty heavy out there”.  I said “Oh, it doesn’t look too bad”.  There was no problem driving there when I went to the Friday dance.  I parked in the lot beside the building.  Inside, I was surprised to see that not many people were there.  Most of them were men.  The women stayed home.  That should have been a clue.  Still, I stayed for a couple of hours.  After all, I’d paid for that ticket.  People kept disappearing.  Finally I decided I’d better leave too.

It was still snowing outside  There was deep snow in the parking lot.  I had to roll the car backwards and forwards a few times to get out of my parking spot.  I knew enough not to spin the tires.  People were pushing cars out on to the street.  I didn’t need it, but they pushed me too.  Driving home was pretty easy.  There was not much traffic.  I drove carefully, staying away from other cars, and staying out of deep snow.  I found out later that the city had the snowplows running all night, keeping one lane open on the major streets.  At one place I had to make a turn onto another street.  The plow had left a ridge of snow across the entrance.  I just got up a bit of speed and plunged right through it.  No problem!  On the way, I noticed that the side streets were filled with an even layer of deep snow.  What was I going to do when I got home?

My usual route was two blocks on side streets, with two turns.  Then I’d drive almost the full length of my back lane and make a wide turn into my garage.  I knew I’d never make it all the way that evening.  Maybe I could park in front of the house?  That would still be two blocks on side streets, with two turns.  I still wouldn’t make it.  Maybe I could try the other way into my back lane?  From a main street, I only had to go past two houses down the back lane and make a tight turn into my garage.  At least, I would be closer to home when I got stuck.  I could walk the rest of the way to get a shovel.  I could spend the next day freeing my car.

When I turned into the back lane, my car stopped at the entrance.  At least there was no traffic.  I backed straight across the street and took another run at the lane, this time with a bit of speed.  This is it, I thought.  What’s going to happen now?  What happened was that I was rolling down the back lane as sweet as you please.  It was just like a normal drive.  I made a careful turn behind my garage, and stopped, leaving room to raise the garage door.  It was amazing!  I was home.  I trudged around the side to enter the garage.  When I unbolted the door and tried to raise it, it wouldn’t budge.  There was too much snow on the other side.

I went out with a shovel to clear the snow, digging a trench in front of the door.  That’s when I noticed that my car was sitting on top of the snow.  No wonder it was easy to drive down the back lane.  All of the sudden, the snow collapsed and the front wheels dropped down.  Oh well, I’m home now.  The door went up easily this time.  The car went into the garage easily too, although it brought a load of snow in with it.  I was home!

When I woke up on Saturday morning, it was still snowing.  It snowed all that day.  Snow was even deeper on the ground.  There was no traffic on the streets at all.  Everybody stayed home.  Sunday was a bright clear day.  The snowplows and trucks were working in earnest to clear away all that snow.  The city let the grocery stores open so that people could get food.  This was before we had Sunday shopping.  It was quite a novelty.  I didn’t need any food, but I walked over to the grocery store to see for myself.  Only a few of the store staff were there.  People stood in long lines at the checkouts.  They were holding magazines and chocolate bars.  Not much hardship there, but I suppose they were as bored as I was after spending a whole day at home.  On Monday, the city was back to normal again, except that everybody had a story to tell.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

